Cymdeithas Hanes Teuluoedd Clwyd
Clwyd Family History Society
Clwyd FHS logo

War Memorials


The Hawarden War Memorial commemorates those men of the area who died in the First and Second World Wars. The memorial was designed by Gilbert G Scott and unveiled in a ceremony on 14 November 1920. It takes the form of a high stone obelisk, with a crucifix in a recess at the top. In the wall behind the obelisk are ten stone tablets commemorating those who died in World War I, while in front are four stone tablets commemorating those who died in World War II. It stands at the junction of Gladstone Way and The Highway.

Hawarden (Welsh: Penarlâg) is a village and community in Flintshire. Between 1974 and 1996 the area was in the county of Clwyd. The ancient parish of Hawarden originally comprised the sixteen townships of Aston, Bannel, Bretton, Broughton, Ewloe Town, Ewloe Wood, Hawarden, Mancot, Manor, Moor, Pentrobin, Rake, Saltney, Sealand and Shotton.

Hawarden War Memorial

Boer War  |  World War I  |  World War II



All information is provided in good faith but, on occasions, errors may occur. The Clwyd Family History Society does not accept responsibility for the consequences of using any of the information provided on this page.

This page was last revised 15th January 2016
Copyright © 2016 Clwyd Family History Society