Cymdeithas Hanes Teuluoedd Clwyd
Clwyd Family History Society
Clwyd FHS

Clwyd Churches

Colwyn Bay
Bae Colwyn
St. Andrew's Church
St. Andrew
Sant Andreas
Ordnance Survey Reference:
SH 841793
Pre-1974 county:
1974 to 1996 county:
Post-1996 county:

The parish of Colwyn Bay (Welsh: Bae Colwyn) was created on 15 May 1893, from the townships of Llwytgoed, Rhiw, and part of Dinerth, which until then had been in the ancient parish of Llandrillo-yn-Rhos.

On 5 May 1900, Llwytgoed and part of Rhiw were transferred to the new parish of Bryn-y-Maen.

St. Andrew's served the westerly end of the parish of Colwyn Bay. The foundation stone was laid on 2 November 1908.  The Chancel, organ chamber and vestry were added in 1925.

St. Andrew's church closed in October 2013.  Services continue to be held at St. Paul's parish church.

• • •

For family history information about the churches and parish, visit the GenUKI Colwyn Bay page.

This page was last revised 26 June 2014
Copyright © 2014 Clwyd Family History Society