Cymdeithas Hanes Teuluoedd Clwyd
Clwyd Family History Society
Clwyd FHS

Clwyd Churches

Colwyn Bay
Bae Colwyn
Colwyn Bay - St. David's Church
St. David
Dewi Sant
Ordnance Survey Reference:
SH 850788
Grade II
Pre-1974 county:
1974 to 1996 county:
Post-1996 county:

The parish of Colwyn Bay (Welsh: Bae Colwyn) was created on 15 May 1893, from the townships of Llwytgoed, Rhiw, and part of Dinerth, which until then had been in the ancient parish of Llandrillo-yn-Rhos.

On 5 May 1900, Llwytgoed and part of Rhiw were transferred to the new parish of Bryn-y-Maen.

St. David's church was intended for the use of the Welsh-speaking worshippers. The foundation stone was laid on 19 May 1902 (Whit Monday), and the church was dedicated on St. David's Day, 1 March 1903.

St Paul's, the parish church, can be seen on the right of the photograph.

• • •

For family history information about the churches and parish, visit the GenUKI Colwyn Bay page.

This page was last revised 26 June 2014
Copyright © 2014 Clwyd Family History Society